August MacGregor

Celebrating Sensuality. Intended for mature audiences, 18 and over

Purpose

12 Comments

walking city street at night, by i k o (Flickr, Creative Commons)

i k o (Flickr, Creative Commons)

Walking these streets every night. People tell me I should go to a bar, enjoy the warmth of camaraderie.

But I tried that, and it worked for a little while. Got to admit that the fur of booze can make you feel better about things — at least take the edge off and smooth it down for a bit.

And the conversations were good for a bit, too.

Until you realize that the same assholes were telling the same stories, and it hit you as you looked in the mirror behind the bar at the reflection of the guy sitting next to you who’s looking at you saying in his scratchy-record voice, “Hey, you don’t have to believe me, but it happened. I’m telling you, it really, really happened.”

You gaze at his reflection and smell his boozy breath and think, I don’t fucking care. I’ve heard this story a hundred times, and I don’t give a flying fuck if really, really happened or not.

And so, the streets. You can say that the streets are same old, same old. Same streets in the same city. But you’d be wrong.

Because even though the people go into the same buildings up to their apartments, they’re different. They tell different stories with their eyes. Stories that they haven’t crafted for boasting in a bar. Stories of their lives.

You only have a second to catch that story. Not even a second. A half second. Maybe even less.

But the stories are there. Right in their eyes.

And it gives me a purpose. After I retired and after my sweet Sophie died, I grew crazy being alone in the apartment. TV is full of bullshit that sucks your brain cells. Same with bars.

So I turned to walking streets, and it gives me a purpose. Seeing the lives around me. Feeling like I’m a part of something.

*****

The photo above is used under the non-commercial Creative Commons license. Click on image to jump to photographer’s Flickr page.

Author: augustmacgregor

I'm a writer of erotica and romantic fiction.

12 thoughts on “Purpose

  1. There are so many emotions in this. Disenchantment. Sadness. Longing. Love what you’ve captured.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really like your unlikely, unpredictable perspective of this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • By unlikely, do you mean the scenario wasn’t realistic?

      Like

      • No, I would have never thought “unlikely” for your words. What I meant is more “unexpectd”. I can’t be a good guide because I’m not an avid reader. What I liked was mainly 3 elements put together unexpectedly. Wandering the city at night for some reason, his tone and language gave me the feel of a “young” man, and then the loss of his Sophie being a tender, sad kind of calling. Personally I think of widow as an older experience but I know very well it happens at all ages. For myself these elements were very interesting all together. No surprise that I liked his candid language throughout. I think that made the tenderness shine and I’m a sucker for tenderness. : )

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ah, that was it! I think you’re a good guide, and it doesn’t have to do with being an avid reader. You’re an amazing writer, and I respect your feedback. I imagined this guy to be in retirement and on the blunt side, as in he doesn’t suffer fools like he used to. More impatient to get to the things he enjoys, after dealing with loneliness. Thanks for your comment — it’s wonderful to hear your thoughts about the story. 🙂

        Like

      • The blunt side – I like that term and I’d like this guy. I can give my take on something but I think if you are an avid reader – voracious, you must come away with a feel for the recipes in writing you know? How writers can put stories and characters together. I imagine patterns start to become evident and what is unusual to me may be more common to others who know the usual patterns. Sometimes what I throw together works. I respect all of you writers who actually sit down and put continual thought and effort into characters and story lines. It’s a strenuous commitment that you must be disciplined in to complete.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s a great observation about patterns. Good books that pull off patterns really impress me, as that certainly is the doing of an author hard at work. It’s when a book opens in the middle of an arc of action, where you slowly get to understand more about what’s going on as you read further into the book. I still have tons to learn, and I love reading books when authors weave amazing stories.

        Like

      • I would imagine it hard to surprise readers or to grab their attention with a “new” perspective.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I think you’re right. Readers have much more material to read than ever before. So I think surprising them might be harder than ever, too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

